Department of Philosophy

1.   Name of Dept.    
2.   HOD                              
:   Dr.Usha Kiran, Mobile No. 8084799224
3.   About Department :  

The University Department of Philosophy, established in the Year 1960. is providing quality teaching and research ambience since its inception. The faculty members have the distinction of publishing seminal research papers o different aspects of Indian philosophy.

Thrust Area of Research: Indian Philosophy Western Philosophy, Comparative Religion.

Research Fellowship: UGC – JRF – 9, RGNF-2.ICPR-1, RU Fellowship - 2

    Special Papers Taught          
:   Semester III: Philosophical classics I which includes study of the Nicomachean Ethics by Aristotle, New Essays in Philosophical Theology by A Flew and A McIntyre, and Language, Truth and Logic by A .J Ayer or, Philosophical Classic II which includes study of The Problems of Philosophy by Bertrand Russell, The Republic by Plato, and Philosophy of Religion by John Hick.

4.   Faculty position:





Mobile No.






Associate Professor

Dr. S. N. Jha

Dr. Usha Kiran

Dr. Ajay Kumar Singh

M.A. Ph.D.

M.A. Ph.D.

M.A. Ph.D.




Assistant Professor



Admission Eligibility: B.A/ B.A (Hons). Duration 2 years (Four semesters) with an exam at the end of each semester.

Research Degree:

MPhil: Eligibility MA. with 55% marks in for General & OBC category and 50% marks for SC/ST category
Duration 1 year (Two semesters)
Doctorate Degrees:
The University awards PhD degree.
There is also a provision of awarding DLitt Degree.