Department of Geology

1.   Name of Dept.    
2.   HOD                              
:   Dr. Bijay Kumar  Singh , Mobile No. 9934320765
3.   About Department :  

The Department, established in1962, has been playing role in nurturing the Geosciences education in this mineral rich state of Jharkhand. It has established State –level Gem Testing laboratory in collaboration with Department of Mines & Geology, Government of Jharkhand. It is the only state University Department of Jharkhand which has been awarded with Department of Science & Technology, Govt. of India – First project. Recently the UGC has awarded UGC-SAP-DRS project on “Integrated resources Development of North Karanpira Basin ( Damodar Valley ) in Jharkhand”.

Thrust Area of Research: Integrated Resource Development of North Karanpura Basin ( Damogar Valley ) in Jharkhand. Self-Financing/Vocational Course: 

  1. P.G.Diploma in Gemology
  2. P.G. Diploma in Environmental  Management and Development
    Special Papers Taught          
:   1. Sedimentology, 2. Fossil fuel Geology, 3. Hydrogelogy, 4. Ore Gelogy, 5. Environmental Geology.

4.   Faculty position:





Mobile No.


University Professor

 Dr. Bijay Kumar  Singh

M.Sc., Ph.D 




Associate Professor








Assistant Professor

Dr. B. R. Jha

Dr.Suresh Kumar Samad

Dr.Chanchal Lakra

Mrs.Neelu Priya Tirkey

Mr.Amit Kumar

M.Sc., Ph.D.

M.Sc.,M.Tech. Ph.D.








Admission Eligibility: BSc/ BSc (Hons). Duration 2 years (Four semesters) with an exam at the end of each semester.

Research Degree

MPhil: Eligibility with 55% marks in for General & OBC category and 50% marks for SC/ST category
Duration 1 year (Two semesters)
Doctorate Degrees:
The University awards PhD degree.
There is also a provision of awarding DSc Degree.