University Department of Anthropology


1.   Name of Dept.    
2.   HOD                              
:   Dr. Dinesh Kumar, Mobile No. 9431325239
3.   Programme     MA, Ph.D, D.Litt.
          MA in Rural Development (Vocational)
4.   About Department :  

The Department of Anthropology, was established at Ranchi on 05.07.1953 under the then Bihar University of Bihar State. Ranchi was the site for the establishment of the Department of Anthropology because of large concentration of tribal population in the area and the work place of Sri Sarat Chandra Roy, the Father of Indian Anthropology. The Department was opened with Prof. Sachchidananda as its founder Head, L. P. Vidyarthi as Founder Teacher and A. B. Saran as Technical Staff, who, later on also became teaching staff of the Department.  Professor Sachchidananda possessed expertise of teaching History at Patna University, Bihar and then studied and did research in Anthropology from the School of Oriental and African Studies at the University of London. Professor L. P. Vidyarthi had obtained training and research in Anthropology from Lucknow University. Professor A. B. Saran had received M. Sc. Degree in Anthropology from Delhi University. With these three Anthropologists having expertise from three different eminent universities, the Department of Anthropology at  Ranchi obtained a formal shape and began to impart training of Post-graduate Students in teaching and research in Anthropology. 

When Ranchi University came into existence on 12.07.1960 the Department of Anthropology became its integral part. 

Since its inception the Department is progressing ahead in imparting training to its students in study and research in different anthropological fields. Today, it is one of the excellent centres of teaching and research in State of  Jharkhand and the Nation as well.

The department has a well-stocked library with more than 17000 books and journals. It has two good labs for Biological and Archaeological Anthropology practical.

    Special Papers Taught          
:   Development Anthropology, Medical Anthropology, Bio- Cultural Evolution, Anthropological linguistics, Theory and Methods in Social –Cultural Anthropology, Anthropology of Complex society, Human Genetics, Theory and Methods in Archaeological Anthropology
    Research Fellow     UGC JRF-5,UGC SRF-3, Maulana Azad SRF-1

4.   Faculty position:







University Professor





Associate Professor

Dr.Dinesh Kumar View Profile

M.Sc. Ph.D


 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Assistant Professor

Dr.Dinesh Oraon View Profile

Dr. Malvi Vishwakarma View Profile

Dr.Abhinay Kumar View Profile


M.Sc. Ph.D

M.Sc., Ph.D

M.Sc., Ph.D

 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Admission Eligibility: B.A/ B.A (Hons). Duration 2 years (Four semesters) with an exam at the end of each semester.

CBCS Syllabus

Research Degree:
Doctorate Degrees:
The University awards PhD degree.

There is also a provision of awarding DLitt Degree.